MX23RW : Wednesday, June 19 00:33:59| >> :600:38916032:38916032:

Lawrence Okolie defends WBO cruiserweight world title in scrappy display versus David Light

Okolie defends world title in scrappy display versus Light
© Reuters
Lawrence Okolie defends his WBO cruiserweight title despite delivering an uninspiring display in a points win against David Light in Manchester.

Lawrence Okolie has successfully defended his WBO cruiserweight title with a points victory over David Light in Manchester.

In his first fight since leaving Matchroom for Boxxer, Okolie had wanted to make a statement ahead of potential domestic clashes and unification bouts.

While Okolie was never in any real danger of not extending his professional winning streak to 19 fights, his performance did little to excite the crowd.

Okolie was fighting under SugarHill Steward, the trainer of Tyson Fury, for the first time, something which may have left the 2016 Olympian caught between styles.

Nevertheless, despite landing numerous clean shots on a game Light, Okolie was quick to hold when on the defensive, contributing to the encounter becoming a poor spectacle.

Okolie's best rounds were the 10th and 11th, the Londoner catching Light with several hurtful shots in quick succession, yet he had to be content with a 116-112, 119-108 and 117-110 verdict with the judges.

On the undercard, Frazer Clarke recorded a second-round stoppage of Bogdan Dinu, who failed to come out for the third round citing an injury to his ribs.

Meanwhile, Michael Gomez Jr edged out Levi Giles for the English super-featherweight title via split-decision, finishing the stronger after Giles had seemingly claimed the first three rounds.

ID:509912:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2807:

Click here for more stories about Lawrence Okolie

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Lawrence Okolie celebrates winning his fight against Dilan Prasovic on September 25, 2021
Read Next:
WBO champion Lawrence Okolie impatient to unify cruiserweight division
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!