MX23RW : Wednesday, June 12 16:00:46| >> :600:267512:267512:
[monks data]
Under-21s Premier League | Regular Season
Apr 7, 2014 at 7.05pm UK
 

0-1

FT(HT: 0-1)
Dunn (25')

Liverpool Under-21s extend lead at top of table

Liverpool U21s extend their lead at the top of the table with a 1-0 win over fellow title challengers Chelsea.

Liverpool Under-21s have taken another step towards winning the league title courtesy of a 1-0 win away to fellow challengers Chelsea Under-21s this evening.

The Reds almost took the lead inside two minutes when Jack Dunn split the defence with a fine pass for Kristoffer Peterson, but Jamal Blackman was on hand for Chelsea to avert the danger.

The hosts threatened in the 11th minute as Tika Musonda set up brother Charly Musonda for a shot on goal that drew a good stop from the keeper.

Liverpool almost gifted Chelsea the lead in the 17th minute when Ryan Fulton misjudged a ball into the box, but Jordan Lussey was well-positioned to clear it off the line.

The visitors took full advantage of that let-off by taking the lead just one minute later as Dunn capped off a quick break with a chipped finish over Blackman, who had slipped on his way out to meet the striker.

Blackman was called into action again shortly after the half-hour mark, this time doing well to deny Lussey from doubling his side's lead.

Liverpool came within inches of making it 2-0 just seven minutes after the restart when Joao Carlos Teixeira curled a free kick from 25 yards past the keeper, only to see it come back off the post.

The visitors continued to threaten and could have added to their lead but for Blackman once again in the 77th minute as the Chelsea keeper did well to stop Peterson's drilled effort.

It was Fulton who was the busier keeper in the closing stages, however, as he made a double save to deny Charly Musonda before also keeping out a Casey Palmer effort to clinch all three points for his side.

ID:148661: cacheID:148661:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:3324:No Data Analysis info
Restore Data
Share this article now:
The Liverpool Football Club emblem is displayed on the gates of Anfield Stadium on September 17, 2012
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Chelsea U21s 0-1 Liverpool U21s - as it happened
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 14
 
8pm
Saturday, June 15
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tables header RHS

Group A

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Germany Germany00000
2 Hungary Hungary00000
3 Scotland flag Scotland00000
4 Switzerland Switzerland00000

Group B

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Albania national flag Albania00000
2 Croatia Croatia00000
3 Italy Italy00000
4 Spain Spain00000

Group C

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Denmark Denmark00000
2 England flag England00000
3 Serbia Serbia00000
4 Slovenia Slovenia00000

Group D

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Austria Austria00000
2 France France00000
3 Netherlands Netherlands00000
4 Poland Poland00000

Group E

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Belgium Belgium00000
2 Romania Romania00000
3 Slovakia Slovakia00000
4 Ukraine Ukraine00000

Group F

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Czech Republic Czech Republic00000
2 Georgia Georgia00000
3 Portugal Portugal00000
4 Turkey Turkey00000


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!