MX23RW : Wednesday, June 12 16:22:02| >> :120:4967:4967:

Eric Cantona backs Bath City community scheme buyout

Eric Cantona buys shares in Bath City in a scheme aimed at saving the National League South side.

Eric Cantona has backed a community scheme to buyout non-League side Bath City.

The former Manchester United man has put his support behind plans to help the National League South side, becoming a shareholder.

In online video, the Frenchman said: "Great news, the fans of Bath City are buying the club. I'm supporting them, and buying a share myself. You must support them too, it's a great club."

The Big Bath City bid was launched last month and the group aims to raise between £750,000 and £1.25m for both the takeover and clearing the club's debts.

Steve Bradley, BBCB spokesman, told the Western Daily Press: "We would urge anyone who wants to help give Bath the football club it deserves to follow Eric's example and buy shares today."

The campaign has already received support from actor Ricky Tomlinson and with the scheme moving to a crowd-funding model, the fans hope that they can raise the money needed.

ID:236049: cacheID:236049:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:1921:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Alan Smith of Manchester United in action during the UEFA Champions League, Group D match between Villarreal and Manchester United at the Campo Municipal El Madrigal on September 14, 2005
Read Next:
OTD: Smith upsets Leeds fans
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 14
 
8pm
Saturday, June 15
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tables header RHS

Group A

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Germany Germany00000
2 Hungary Hungary00000
3 Scotland flag Scotland00000
4 Switzerland Switzerland00000

Group B

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Albania national flag Albania00000
2 Croatia Croatia00000
3 Italy Italy00000
4 Spain Spain00000

Group C

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Denmark Denmark00000
2 England flag England00000
3 Serbia Serbia00000
4 Slovenia Slovenia00000

Group D

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Austria Austria00000
2 France France00000
3 Netherlands Netherlands00000
4 Poland Poland00000

Group E

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Belgium Belgium00000
2 Romania Romania00000
3 Slovakia Slovakia00000
4 Ukraine Ukraine00000

Group F

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Czech Republic Czech Republic00000
2 Georgia Georgia00000
3 Portugal Portugal00000
4 Turkey Turkey00000


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!