MX23RW : Wednesday, June 12 14:37:34| >> :600:4938556:4938556:
[monks data]
Gateshead
FA Cup | Second Round
Dec 7, 2014 at 12pm UK
 

2-0

Pattinson (8'), Wright (91')
FT(HT: 1-0)

Gateshead edge out gutsy Warrington Town

Gateshead beat Warrington 2-0 in a second-round FA Cup clash, courtesy of goals from Matty Pattinson and Danny Wright.

Gateshead progressed into the third round of the FA Cup by beating lowly Warrington Town 2-0 at the Gateshead International Stadium this afternoon.

Goals from Matty Pattinson and Danny Wright at the beginning and end of the clash helped the Tynesiders move into Monday's draw, which will include the Premier League clubs.

Warrington went into the game as the lowest-ranked team left in the competition, and their task to reach the next round grew far steeper inside 10 minutes.

Rob Ramshaw raced down the right flank before cutting back for Pattinson to smash past Karl Wills from close range on eight minutes.

Gateshead could have then added to their lead after missing two good chances in quick succession. First, John Oster saw his goal-bound effort blocked on the line, before Wills parried Alex Rodman's low strike moments later.

Town grew into the game and almost equalised in spectacular fashion, with Lee Gaskell's audacious overhead flying just wide of Adam Bartlett's near post on 20 minutes.

Both sides then cancelled each other out for large spells, but Warrington had defender James McCarten to thank for preserving their one-goal deficit, as he cleared Rodman's effort off the line midway through the second half.

Buoyed by the travelling fans, Warrington tried desperately to work their way back into the game, with Scott Metcalfe volleying narrowly wide on 75 minutes.

Wright - who had earlier struck the post - then capitalised on a dreadful error from Wills in stoppage time to seal Gateshead's progression and end Warrington's FA Cup journey.

ID:192294: cacheID:192294:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:3324:No Data Analysis info
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Nathan Cameron of Bury scores his sides second goal during the FA Cup First Round match between Bury and Hemel Hempstead Town at JD Stadium on November 8, 2014
Read Next:
FA Cup roundup: Worcester cause upset
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 14
 
8pm
Saturday, June 15
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tables header RHS

Group A

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Germany Germany00000
2 Hungary Hungary00000
3 Scotland flag Scotland00000
4 Switzerland Switzerland00000

Group B

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Albania national flag Albania00000
2 Croatia Croatia00000
3 Italy Italy00000
4 Spain Spain00000

Group C

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Denmark Denmark00000
2 England flag England00000
3 Serbia Serbia00000
4 Slovenia Slovenia00000

Group D

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Austria Austria00000
2 France France00000
3 Netherlands Netherlands00000
4 Poland Poland00000

Group E

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Belgium Belgium00000
2 Romania Romania00000
3 Slovakia Slovakia00000
4 Ukraine Ukraine00000

Group F

TeamPWDLPTS
1 Czech Republic Czech Republic00000
2 Georgia Georgia00000
3 Portugal Portugal00000
4 Turkey Turkey00000


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!